Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
2021 Giant Trance X 29 2
198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my 2021 Trance X for about 6 weeks now and having a lot of fun. But there are a few things I'm noticing and I want your opinions as long-time riders (I'm a noob). Here's the issue: Almost every time I ride, for a few days afterwards, I get really bad pain in my left wrist, like tendon pain on the far left-side (pinky side) going down past my wrist. Something is inflaming that tendon when I ride. So, I started doing more research into what could be causing this.

I'm riding a size large and I'm wondering if there's a reach and RAD problem. I watched a number of MTB sizing videos on figuring proper RAD and reach. According to their calculations, my reach is about 454mm and my RAD is 812mm (I'm just a hair under 6' tall with a ~34" inseam). The Giant Trance X in a large has a reach of 486 and a RAD of ~882.65mm with the stock stem and handlebars. The delta are 32mm in the reach and 70.65mm in the RAD. That about 1.26" in the reach and 2.78" in the RAD. Would this/could this be leading to my wrist pain because I'm farther extended over the handlebars than I should be and putting too much weight forward instead of on the bike's center (NOT 'heavy feet/light hands')? Should I experiment with something like 1) slightly shorter stem, 2) different handlebars with some rise, and 3) fatter grips? I really love riding but I need to solve this. I can't have pain in my wrists every time I spend an hour or two bashing up and down hills... Thanks.

·
aka "SirLurkAlot"
628 Posts
Yep, determine your handlebar sweep angle, that can really help!
I agree with everything mentioned and can tell you from experience that sweep can have a big impact.