Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Firstly, I have to say, no I'm not a bike expert, and no I've never worked in a bike shop.... don't even know anyone who does/did!!!

I'm hoping someone here can give me some suggestions and advice on getting a bike that actually fits. Don't believe I've ever had a bike that really fit me, or even came close.

Firstly, I am perhaps a bit of a freak of nature..... I have really long legs for my height. I am an honest 6'2" tall with a 36" inseam without shoes. I'm 48 years old, (some days I feel older, LOL) and weigh195 pounds. I ride mostly to stay in shape, but on occasion it's kind of fun to go through a boulder patch or down a staircase or two. I do like to ride pretty fast most of the time, can usually keep up with people quite a bit younger than me.

Like most everyone else here I've been riding since I was little, yeah I know that was a long time ago!!! First bike was a 20 inch stingray then moved on to a 10 speed in my teenage years. Still have the scars from the damn 10 speed!!! Skinny tires and gravel roads weren't a good mix!!!

I did take a break from riding for number of years, seems like I was spending way to much time working.

Well anyway, I got rid of the vintage 10 speed and was sold this Bianchi project 3 by a local bike shop, which I believe was one of the forerunners to the modern 29er.

Bicycle tire Tire Bicycle frame Bicycle wheel Wheel

Bought this specialized full suspension bike to replace another suspension bike that didn't fit me.

Tire Wheel Bicycle tire Bicycle wheel rim Bicycle wheel

Gosh, I didn't even realize how hideous these contraptions looked until I took pictures of them!!! LOL

After spending a lot of years trying to "make" various bikes fit me a lightbulb went off in my head I thought just may be a 29er would fitt much better.