Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Your bike sucks
2,488 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was installing a new BB to hopefully fix some chainline problems on my Vulture...Everything was going well and then 'SNAP'. One end of the pinch bolt on the EBB breaks off. Crap. Of course, I don't blame anyone except myself. I guess I got a little heavy handed with the allen wrench. And to think, I used to be a mechanic.

Truth be told, I think the 'real' damage occurred a few months ago when I was adjusting my EBB during a ride. My EBB had shifted 3 times (yes folks they can slip) on that ride and I cranked her extra tight to make sure I didn't bang my knee again. When I got back home I noticed the slot for pinch bolt looked a little deformed.

This has been the worst cycling season of my life. Everything thing that could go wrong did: major injury to my hand - months off, sickness - time off again, major wreck and trip to the ER - rearranged face and time off, and now broken Vulture. Steer clear of me fellas, I've got the bad JUJU.

Anyone want to give me some advice on getting this fixed? Right now, I'm planning on giving it to a local welder wiz to reattach.

End of rant. Thanks. C.

Attachments

·
Recovering Weight Weenie
8,821 Posts
Scary.
having talked to wade about this very thing last week, he said that most people tend to overtighten.
i told him that I usually tighten my pinch bolts until the seam closes and he replied that even that is too tight.
I know how frustrating it gets when it seems nothing goes right. Perhaps a week of trail running (while you wait for the tab to get welded back on) will be just the prescription for a renewed vigor for riding...
I'm sure Wade will weld that back on.. prolly won't re-paint the area, but it might be a cool badge of courage? :rolleyes:

·
Registered
136 Posts
Sorry, but thanks