Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I'm a big guy (6' 4", 280 lbs.) and I ride a Gary Fisher Marlin. I've been riding on the same stock shock (RST 281) for about 5 years. I haven't hit many trails so it hasn't bothered me too much, but this thing is JUNK. It bottoms out on almost every bump and then doesn't return.

Here is my dilemma: I am a poor college student, so my budget is no more than $200. I'd like to hit the trails more and also not bottom out going off curbs, haha.

What should I look for and where should I look for it? Is it possible to even find a shock that will support me well for under 200 bones? Anything's gotta be better than this RST!

·
Registered
5 Posts
I have the same dillemna. I'm 230ish and have a air shock now...heard that springs were the way to go and not to exceed 80mm of travel. I want to spend less than 500...any help would be great...thanks

spruce

·
Registered
1,812 Posts
bobcatpilot said:
What about a Rock Shox Pilot XC? I've seen a few of those on eBay relatively cheap. They run 80-100mm.

Any Marzocchi's in particular?

Thanks!
Pliot is a very low end OEM. The reason for Marzocchi is price, parts availability, ease of service and they require vertually no maintenance. The coil/oil system is very nice and plush once set up correctly. I would suggest looking into reviews on mtbr and decide where to go from there. You need no more than 100mm fork, 80mm ideally.

·
Registered
1,812 Posts
UMineralKasherT said:
I have the same dillemna. I'm 230ish and have a air shock now...heard that springs were the way to go and not to exceed 80mm of travel. I want to spend less than 500...any help would be great...thanks

spruce
You have a totally different budget here. Look into Fox forx. And again, read reviews on various models.

·
Registered
6,762 Posts
Deffinately go Marzocchi....

bobcatpilot said: