Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

Noob here looking to get his first bike. I've been reading A TON on here and have learned a lot.

I'm in the $600-$700 and maybe can push more. I am looking for something that I can ride on dedicated trails here with some on-road.

Anyway in looking at the following two bikes, it seems the GT has WAY better components and is cheaper, sooo is the GT too good to be true? FYI, the Scott dealer is an easy ride from my house vs. the other shop which I would have to drive to.

GT Karakoram 2.0

GT Karakoram 2.0 29er Mountain Bike - 2013 - Save Up to 30% Off On Mountain Bikes

SCOTT Aspect 940 Bike - SCOTT Sports

Scott is $699 at local shop.

It seems like everyone really harps on having a minimum of deore so the GT just seems like the smarter play. How is the RockShox XC28 TK Mg?

Which is the better brand or is it down to components, the ride, or the LBS?

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,

FG12351

·
Registered
204 Posts
I'd go with the GT myself. The XC28 is fine, entry level, but serviceable. It's a good price, because on line. You can alway get deals like that from an on line dealer, and Performance is a reputabile one.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Between those two, I would go with the GT. Another option, although you won't be able to test ride one, is Airborne Bicycles. Guardian 2.0

For the money, you're getting much better components than either of the bikes you listed and their right next door to you in Ohio.
I'd take the GT with Shimano over the Airborne with Sram. At a higher price point, Sram stands up well against Shimano, but in the lower teirs, it's hard to beat Shimano.

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
I've got a Karakoram 3.0 on closeout and it was a great deal. Go ride both and see which one feels better, and don't rule out deals online for the GT.

·
Registered
1,591 Posts