Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Ride On!
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year of being serious about riding. Got my bike last December and have been riding Granite Bay, Salmon Falls & some Auburn trails. Currently I am running WTB Wolverines 26 x 2.2 on both front and rear. They have performed well to date, but have noticed that with things getting a bit sandier as the hotter weather is back I am losing traction in the turns.

Any thoughts on what the good setup is for the area?

·
Registered
5,763 Posts
It's a tall order to find a tire that works great for GB and Auburn. The Wolverine is a great choice. A lot of my friends run that tire (same riding areas).
When GB gets sandy and loose, few tires are going to not slip in the sand.

·
Registered
456 Posts
I ride the same trails all the time as well, I have been using the Specialized Purgatory 29 2.3 up front and the captain 2.2 in the rear have been working really well for me.

·
Bike Geek
735 Posts
Perhaps you could go a little knob bier and go with a weir wolf or a Bronson. I like to run a Bronson up front with a weir wolf in back.

·
Registered
4,831 Posts
I like butcher/ground control, Purg/ground control, butcher/ardent (2.25 model)

The butcher is probably overkill but it rolls just as well as the Purg but with more grip so I don't see why not.

·
Registered
302 Posts
I've had decent luck with my Geax Mezcal in 26x2.3 front and back at GB. I run them at 30 psi and so far these have had the best traction when climbing out of any of the other tires I've tried over the years out there. In a few weeks as it dries out more not much will work well out there but this is the latest in the season I've had a tire still climb well on the loose over hard pack out there. Haven't tried them in Auburn yet.

·
Ride On!
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·