Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to mountain biking... And not very knowledgeable. I have a ~$600 budget, and I went around checking some stores today.

It turns out that my first "Internet pick", the Marin B-17, is nowhere to be found, except at REI-outlet, in a small size that isn't going to work for me. Does Marin have a newer replacement for this great bike?

Speaking of REI, they have a rather nice bike called 08 Novara Panderosa at $670 (http://www.rei.com/product/760853). Does anybody have info on this bike? And Novara bikes in general?

Is it possible to get anything better with a $600 budget? I know there is no "best", but I'm looking for a good all-around bike.

I have another question relating to which size of bike I should get. I'm 5'11 with an inseam of 33 inches. So apparently I should get a 19 inch frame. Is this correct?

·
Registered
700 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
If $600 is the total budget, I think good advice is to spend $500-520 on a bike so you have money left over for bike accessories. You will easily spend $60 on top of the bike. If you plan to get clipless pedals/shoes, you may want to adjust your budget.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I had actually noticed the Ibex 650 before. Looks like a nice bike. The X7 is really nice but seriously over the budget :eek:

DiamondBack Response... Originally wanted one, but I feel they are Walmart/Target kind of bikes, like Mangoose. I may be wrong, I'm a noob, this is just a feeling. I'm no racer but they felt really heavy in the store. I want to climb!

·
Registered
700 Posts
Nibar said:
I had actually noticed the Ibex 650 before. Looks like a nice bike. The X7 is really nice but seriously over the budget :eek: