Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you check out my thread here:

https://forums.mtbr.com/29er-compon...y-drive-chain-brake-1102072.html#post14067637

You'll see that I'm new to the sport, bought a Marlin 5 and already destroyed the thing after 4 days into riding. I think I need something heavy duty or a bit more advanced for the trails I hit. Lots of climbing/dry trails, some what rocky since we live in BC, Canada - but lots of down hill stuff that can take a beating.

Thanks for any advice. Budget isn't an issue right now but nothing too crazy, I'd like to stay under $3000 Canadian if I can. I was looking at a Fat Bike too...but not sure if there are any that are super strong for what I'm looking to do. Or if you can comment on certain drive chain components you found works best.

I'm 5'11" - 245lbs. I lift heavy, squat over 500, deadlift 600+, and bench about 400. I'm a big rider who needs a bike I can throw around and have it take a beating.

Thanks

·
Registered
5,800 Posts
I'm similar size to you 6ft, 240lb's...

Use to lift heavy-ish (less than your no.s though) back in my younger days.

If you get seriously into MTB'ing, you'll find that your physical makeup will change slightly.

You'll likely drop weight in your first 6 months too.

Strong bikes I've ridden (+my $0.02)

Kona Process 134
-Kona bikes are built tough
-Also heavy, one of reasons I sold mine
*If you could find something from the Process range, it'd handle what you can dish out.

Giant Reign 2
-Mine was a '17
-Built tough
-Reasonable weight
-Geo meant hard work on climbs
-Super stable/confident in the chunder, best bike at going down I've owned
*'19 models are spec'd with crap drivetrains & brakes (lower end models)

My current mule is a '19 Polygon Siskiu N8.
Probably the heaviest bike I've owned... but, it pedals better than my old Kona/Giant bikes.