Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking into trying out some flats. Been riding clipless forever but am interested in switching to flats. I'm looking for a nice lightweight pair for around $100 or less. I mostly ride AM/XC style of trails. I usually try to do a Mammoth Bike Park trip once a year but most my riding is done in dry rocky loose So Cal type riding conditions. I'm also looking at geting some comfortable skate style type shoes to go with the pedals. I'm looking at the five ten Freerides as an option. Any suggestions on pedals and or shoes to meet my criteria would be great.

Cheers!

·
Biking Like Crazy!
1,466 Posts
I've been using 2 pairs of Wellgo Mg-1 pedals for a couple of years now.
No problems yet, even with some light FR on 'em!
On sale at Cambria Bikes for $59.95 (reg. $79.95).
They weigh only 378 gm. Check 'em out!:thumbsup:

edit: the Five Ten's are good shoes, but heavy and hot tho!

·
trail addict
1,866 Posts
Combatcm said:
What's the difference between AM flats and DH flats?
Nothing, really. Pedals are like grips and seats-they are a personal preference and should be chosen based on what makes you comfy. Some DHers will need pedals that are tough due to striking rocks and stuff, but then again, some of us have regular trail rides where rock strikes are common. Generally, if you ride in rough, snotty terrain, grip is a big concern, so aggressive pins help keep the shoes in place.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Anyone running syncros meathook flat pedals. They are a little more pricey at $120.00. Also are the six six one filter shoes any good. They seem to be not as as expensive as the Five Ten Freerider shoes I was considering.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,282 Posts