Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
391 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding on XC bike frames for the past 12 years. I never thought a bike could be better until I got this new freeride frame. The only advantage I can see is that the seat tube is tall for powering your legs on XC bikes, that's all.

I just went out and made myself a custom seat post that's close to 20 inches long and stuck it on there. I goes plenty high up for some serious pedaling on XC trails and going up hill. I can move the bike seat back and forth on the fly to change my virtual top tube length.

In fact the new bike frame is much more riggid and compact than the XC frame, which equates to me being able to put power to the ground with more authority. On top of that the new frame makes turns twice as fast and can transition back and forth through turn after turn (left turn to right turn back to left turn: s curves) with no resistance whatsoever.

My new frame only weighs 4pounds 13 ounces. A wopping 8 ounces more than my Xc frame :rolleyes:

Not enough of a difference when pedaling, in that it doesn't slow me down, but it does take me much faster and safer through insane corners.

The question is..................... why would anyone want an Xc frame? If you bike in a straight line all your life and want less weight, I can see why.

but other than that

XC frames are much inferior in all the other aspects of biking.

Attachments

·
mtbr remember
4,356 Posts