Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings. I'm a college student in my last year, I in also a father.
I live in Bellingham, WA and love to hike. I'm interested in purchasing a bike this weekend for around $600-1000. The local bike shops have Specialized, Trek, Rocky Mountain and some other brands. I'm leaning towards a Specialized right now. I'm 6 ft. tall and 240 lbs. I'm shooting for 185lbs. I'll ride it on the road and trails. Which is better? I've read that they are similar except the hardrock is longer and the rockhopper is lighter. Can anyone help? Thanks!

Also - Who's interested in riding with a noob in Bellingham?

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Go Rockhopper

I would go with the Rockhopper for reasons I described in a similar thread in the Ibex forum. In the hardtail line up from Specialized, if you were to rate them "Good, Better, Best", The Hardrock would be "Good", the Rockhopper "Better". This holds true for the parts specification in both line ups. Even the top of the line Hardrock Pro Disc has it's limitations from the standpoint of it's component selection. I would recommend the Rockhopper Comp Disc, or if you can afford it, the Rockhopper Pro Disc (it's $1100, but you may get them down to a grand. If you can, grab it and run!). Both are very nice bikes for the money, and if Specialized is what you prefer, these are the bikes you should be looking at IMO.

Bob

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·