Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm Matt. This is my first post on this forum. The reason for my post is that I need some advice from experienced riders and consumers of bicycle products. This is a long post with a lot of questions. Anyone with the patience to help me out is a saint, and I really appreciate the help.

I started riding in June 2004, mostly mild freeriding. To ride I purchased an 04 Hardrock Pro. Besides replacing the crankset, this bike was served me fairly well. The majority of the riding I do is out and back, uphill on moderately technical singletrack, downhill on about the same. Probably about 40/60, uphill/downhill. Uphill is kind of just a nice grind for me, downhill is where I find my joy... love to flow fast, hitting little drops and jumps, maybe hitting larger obstacles in the future? As I have improved as a rider, I find myself jumping and dropping more often. Experienced riders that I have rode with have told me that my bike is going to start breaking if I keep up with what I'm doing. I have already replaced the bottom bracket and the crank set. I'm told that I'll end up breaking my fork if I keep it up and that my headset should also be replaced. I would also really like to get new brakes. The Shimano discs the bike came with are okay until I get in rain or mud.

So anyhow, I find myself looking at a lot of component upgrades and I am beginning to think that the money would probably be better spent on a new bike. The Hardrock is going for $430 on ebay, and those upgrades would probably put me at at least $600. My thinking is that I might as well take this $1000 and put it towards a bike that is more capabale for the level I am currently at and will allow me room to improve.