Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody. I've been lurking around these forums for a minute now, I think I finally have something worth making a post about. This might get a bit long, so bear with me.

I've only been riding bikes for a couple years, kinda fell into it by accident and been fairly addicted since. I've got a background in automotive fabrication and paint, I worked in the old car business for over a decade, even had my own shop for about 4 years. At this point, I'm pretty burned out on cars, but I do miss building stuff. I've been thinking about (and trying to talk myself out of) building a frame for a couple years at this point, but it seems that once I get an idea in my head, I can't let it go so here we are.

Having built custom vehicles for a number of people over the years, there's a couple thing I like to determine before we begin any custom project. 1) Are we going to be able to produce a higher quality product than one we could simply purchase? No. 2) Can we produce our custom whatever for less money than we would spend on a similar off the shelf product? No again. Can we produce our product faster than simply ordering a similar counterpart? Absolutely not. So, now that we've satisfied all the requirements of a custom build, we're ready to begin :)

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
On second thought, I'm gonna break this up into a few posts.