Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, this is a great forum. I am just getting into mountain biking and am looking for good beginner trails around Manchester. My wife has a Specialized HardRock from the mid '90s (no fork) and I just picked up a Rockhopper Comp Disc. So far we've been riding real easy stuff around where we live, like rail trails, to get used to the bikes and build endurance.

Just ordered a rack setup for our wagon, so we are soon to be more mobile and are excited to check out some more adventurous, but not overly intense trails. Ideas I've gathered so far are things like Beaver Brook in Hollis and Horse Hill Nature Preserve in Merrimack. Also seems like some of the trails at FOMBA might be ok for noobs, but probably not for our first trail experience.

Any comments or other ideas are welcome. Thanks.

·
Registered
143 Posts
I would suggest FOMBA. I've only been there twice, but I was impressed with the trails. Well marked. Try Woodpecker or Hemlock Loop. I rode a tandem for the first time on Hemlock Loop, and didn't crash, had a couple of "oh sh*t" moments.

·
tag007
98 Posts
Fomba

Definitely agree with webber that FOMBA is great for beginners. It's got plenty of short, well marked loops that connect to access roads. It's pretty hard to get lost out there, unlike many of the rougher places around here. DL a map off the internet, unless you have a photographic memory. Also, this forum is a great place to set up rides. It's always best if you can find a "tour guide" to take you around if it's your first time somewhere.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)