Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
696 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks. I've started doing a little more of my own maintenace lately and have also recently started my first el cheapo singlespeed build out of an old (and free) Trek 800. I have a pretty good set of standard Craftsman tools (300 piece?) around the garage, but I'm quickly learning that I need many specialty tools for working on bicycles.

What is a good (and relatively inexpensive) tool kit that will give me soem of the basics like:

-cassette removal tool
-chain whip
-crank puller
-pedal wrench (my standard 15mm Craftsman wrenches are sometimes too thick)

Note, I don't have to have 'Park' or 'Pedros' brand stuff, as I'm just a novice and doing this for fun, not as my career. I was thinking this might be a good start:

http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?...rand=&sku=3521&storetype=&estoreid=&pagename=

Any other suggestions? I figure its cheaper just to buy a kit now instead of buying one tool at a time as I need it.

Thanks.

·
Get your freak on!
2,696 Posts
Do a search on this forum - it as been discussed in great detail...

But the general advice is that the cheaper already made tool kits are a waste of money. They contain tools in them that many people do not have a use for, and then some of the more important tools just don't work (in my case - the chain breaker). The tools such as the cassette lockring and chainwhip are still going strong though..

Park isn't only for profesional mechanics, it is cheap enough that novice mechanics can afford to have it. The same can be said for Pedros.

You don't want to be using cheap tools - the can do more bad then good in some cases (like rounding out bolts and stripping crank arms...).

·
A wheelist
5,991 Posts