Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys I am new to mountain biking and I would like to get started with either a cdale f4 or caffiene f3. I have heard that people have had problems with their headshocks, like how they last only a year and are not as good as spring shocks. Is this true? Also, what do you mean by the headset being compatable with only a certain type of fork? Can I just replace the fork with another brand in the future without replacing anything else? My final question is do these bikes last a long time with not much maintainance? Im still in my teenage years, and I do not have a ton of $ to upgrade/fix/replace. The majority of my rinding will be on trails and roads. Sorry for all of the questions but I want to make a wise purchase.:)

·
Super Moderator
3,267 Posts
Sky1ne said:
Hello guys I am new to mountain biking and I would like to get started with either a cdale f4 or caffiene f3.
I have heard that people have had problems with their headshocks, like how they last only a year and are not as good as spring shocks. Is this true?
Also, what do you mean by the headset being compatable with only a certain type of fork? Can I just replace the fork with another brand in the future without replacing anything else?
My final question is do these bikes last a long time with not much maintainance?
Im still in my teenage years, and I do not have a ton of $ to upgrade/fix/replace. The majority of my rinding will be on trails and roads. Sorry for all of the questions but I want to make a wise purchase.:)
If it goes out inside a year it is covered, and they dont seem to have an above average rate of problems. Perhaps a servicer like Mendon can expound further

The headset on a Headshock/Lefty Cdale is only comaptible with those forks due to the 1.562" diameter Steer tube. HOWEVER there is a simple $30 or so adaptor that allows you to use virtually any other fork