Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys! I'm a beginner on Mtb and I want to try the sports. I want a bike that I can use everyday and can be use on trails. My buddy told me to go for hard tail 27.5. Can you please give me a suggestion what is good for me? Because I really don't know what to buy. My budget is $1,500. Thanks!

·
EAT MORE GRIME
(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
7,914 Posts
get a used bike for 700 bucks, you can get something really awesome second hand from a bike shop. then save your coin for upgrades or repairs. what is good, will be a hard tail, tube tires, standard bike. if you then ride it enough you will know if you want 'more bike' later but a bog-standard hardtail IS 100% enough bike don't be fooled by fancy stuff. you need to just get out and ride. 700 bucks will get you plenty of bike...ask around

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
Don't necessarily limit yourself to 27.5" wheels just because your buddy told you to go that route. Test ride all 3 wheel sizes. In that budget, look for a decent hardtail. Going the used route can get you something nicer for less money most of the time, but be sure whatever you get fits you. Also, factor into your budget accessories like a helmet, water carrying system (bottles/cages or hydration pack), flat repair kit, padded shorts, etc...

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
If you can get a nice used bike, then its a great route to go. Definitely get more bang for your buck. But, if a new 27.5 HT is what you really want, then you could check out the Rocky Mountain Fusion (since I see your in Canada). Its $1100 which would leave your room for a helmet, gloves, small tools, spare tubes and other accessories.

Fusion 27.5 | Rocky Mountain Bicycles

·
Registered
1,591 Posts
meh deal.