Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding in February this year and I am interested in doing the Shenandoah 100 on September 2010. I'm looking for a training plan for beginners to complete a 100 mile race. Is doing a 100 mile Mountain Bike race doable after only riding a little over a year? Here is some background info:
- I am 38 years old - 5' 8" / 175 lbs.
- My longest ride so far has been 45 miles on the road on my hardtail mountain bike.
- My longest ride on trails has been 20 miles.
- I have limited amount of time to train (8-10 hours/week)

One more question:
- How tough is it to do 100 miles on a 26" hardtail (2009 Trek 6000)?

·
What It Be ?
890 Posts
I attempted the SM100 in 2008. I bailed at CP4. I finished it this year. 14 hours 10 mins. This year I picked up a road bike and did a fair bit of training on it. The 100 was my first real century. We did have a few weekends where we rode big mileage days back to back.

One thing I can tell you is to get down there and ride some of the bigger hills....Hankey over to Dowells to Braileys Pond is a good 40 mile loop you could add Wolf into that and get about 1/2 the course in. Those hills are a monster if you haven't ridden them before. I did it in 2008 and was totally overwhelmed by the length of Hankey it killed me.

Another thing is go climb climb climb. We are doing alot of training on skyline this year for this thing.

Good luck to you sir.

·
Registered
51 Posts
I think that will be plenty of time to train. Last year was my first year racing mountian bikes and ended up squeezing 4 Hundred milers in without killing/injuring myself. I had a lot of luck with lwcoaching.com. I used Lynda's endurance winter base plan and her 100 mile personal best plan. You might have to extend your training time a few weeks preceeding the race to get a long ride in but its definately doable. Best money ive spent yet!