Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,595 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been running Stan's system on my Syncros DS28s for a few months now and I've been exclusively using UST tires during that time because they set up easier and seem to hold air much better (duh). I just ordered some 2.6 Kenda Telonix wire bead and dual ply. I got them for a trip to Snowshoe Mtn. in July. The Shoe is gnarly with big rock gardens and huge roots which is why I wanted some big sticky meats.

Anyway, these tires have me freaking out about running them tubeless. Kenda states right on their site not to use latex based sealants. What do the experts have to say? I ordered some Maxxis DH tubes (don't want to pinchflat) just in case I decide to just run tubes but I really don't want to add a pound of rotational weight per wheel. I should add that I ride DH/FR with a Transition Blindside and weigh 225# ready to rock.

I'm afraid of rolling the bead or burping the tire mostly.

·
i call it a kaiser blade
744 Posts
personally if i'm running DH, i want to make sure i can trust ALL of my gear.

that's my 2 cents.

·
Saving lives with knives.
959 Posts
I have been running Kenda Nevegal Standard with Stan's for a two year and I have never had a problem. What I have seen happen with the Kenda UST tires, is bubbling of the casing when used with stan's sealant. So I would shy away from Kenda UST tires + Stans. But Stan's + regular Kenda tires should work.

·
Registered
6,094 Posts
I have been running Kenda Nevegals with Stans for more than 4 months. Love it. But would not trust it on a real downhill course.

·
Registered
1,595 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·