Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
T.W.O
1,730 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well because I work for retail I can get a good deal on the Hayes Stroker Trails. I was almost about to buy them but then I realized I had to buy mounting kits, rotors, bleed kits all extra. I didn't anticipate so I started looking else where, I ran into the BB7's.

I really like the idea of the maintenance for mechanical brakes and I am still a beginner. I feel like it is a much better idea for me to learn more about bikes before I start buying more complex equipment. I can get either of these for roughly the same price but with the BB7's I can order bling housing. :)

My question is: Is it a good idea or should I just buy the hydros? Also, who has BB7's and do you think they work good for an AM application?

Thank you!:thumbsup:

·
Blue Pig
1,553 Posts
I have bb7's, and man do they stop one a dime. Not sure about other brake systems but my bb7's have not failed on me in two rain pours in the mountains (Stupid weather channel). No squealing and no slippage, maybe other higher end brakes wont do it, I don't know. BB7's are really easy to set up as well. I still haven't had the need to replace the pads, either.

·
Registered
340 Posts
Blksocks said:
I have bb7's, and man do they stop one a dime. Not sure about other brake systems but my bb7's have not failed on me in two rain pours in the mountains (Stupid weather channel). No squealing and no slippage, maybe other higher end brakes wont do it, I don't know. BB7's are really easy to set up as well. I still haven't had the need to replace the pads, either.
x1 for bb7.... easy to fit, easy to adjust, works right every time. You cannot go wrong here.

John

·
Five is right out
3,176 Posts

·
T.W.O
1,730 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ok, I'm glad I was leaning towards the BB7 anyways. My friend got stroker aces and those are sick as hell, but I doubted any comparison between the aces and the trails.

·
T.W.O
1,730 Posts