Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using BB-5 brakes for a couple of years and tolerating a lot of ugly noise from the front brake. Originally, Ibex thought it was a warped rotor and they sent me a replacement. My LBS insisted the rotor wasn't warped and the brake needed proper adjustment. Once fixed, the brake was fine until I got home and it started grinding again. Another LBS insisted the same thing . . they fixed it, and it started grinding again in the parking lot. We DID change the rotor. Same problem.

When I lightly pull the brake lever, the sound is just awful. Sounds like a looose part vibrating. Sometimes, the noise starts during a ride. A quick pull on the brake lever usually fixes it. The back brake doesn't do this. It's also not always convenient to do a quick pull on the brake.

I look at the brake and I can see the rotor in place and parallel to the pads. If I put a quick pull on the lever, often I'll then see the outermost pad no longer parallel to the rotor -- the leading edge (front of the bike) will be much closer to the rotor even touching it. With another quick pull, the pad is again parallel to the rotor. The back brake does not appear to do this.

The front brake also pulses when it's pulled hard and even then.

It is possible for the outer pad to be loose? LBS still insists that's not the problem, but I can't keep paying them for service that doesn't fix anything. Recommendations?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Just to follow-up on my own post . . .

I have read the other threads on this topic including performing the alignment with the paper spacer. The same problem appears . . . Just seems that if that outer pad doesn't stay parallel to the rotor (and doesn't return to where it started after a brake pull) that no adjustment is going to help.

I'm not above replacing the brake if that will clear this up.

·
sweet!
260 Posts