Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So im fairly new to the mt biking world, rode when i was younger and just started to again, got myself a cheap Genesis bike so id have something to learn to work on that wasnt expensive if i screwed it up.Id like to try a fat bike now, i live up in the woods and it would be nice to have a longer riding season. I ride mostly dirt/fire roads and single tracks.Id like to keep it under 500 bucks, i wish i could spend more but thats what i can afford right now. The fat bikes i know of in that range are the Mongoose Dolomite, Mongoose Beast, Sun Spider, Gravity Bullseye and the Gravity Bullseye Monster.Ive done a bit of research on all of them, the Beast looks totally unsuitable for what i want. I rode the Sun Spider and really didnt like the whole kickshift thing. The Dolomite seems pretty heavy, doesnt seem to be geared well and with the price going up to 299-350 it seems a little too expensive for what it is. At 225 id probably give it a try but...... The Gravity Bullseye seems to be a good choice but it looks like it has 3 inch wide tires? Seems a bit small.... and the Monster vesion seems very nice but im a little worried that 2x8 might be too little gears for hills and such around me.So if you read thru that whole long paragraph props to you lol, but am i on the right track here? Is there anything else in that price range? Anyone ride these and have some comments for me?

·
Registered
7,361 Posts
...Is there anything else in that price range?...
I've nothing against the budget fatbikes, but if it was my money, I'd be looking at a secondhand quality bike.

There's been quite a few new models recently, so there's bound to some people who have upgraded and have a fatbike for sale or traded it in.

·
Banned
19,198 Posts