Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Wrench
769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys,

This is my first year in Colorado, and as such I've planned out numerous races throughout the season. The first is the 50 miler in Lakeway, CO.

I've heard it's a rather non-technical course. I'm living in Fort Collins, and the terrain here is fairly rocky. But moving from Austin, it's similar. Just a different type of rock.

For anyone who's done this race, how much climbing is there per lap (6 laps)? I can't find hard data, but I want to say it looks to be around 1k feet.

My bike is a Jamis Nemesis.
IMAG1433.jpg

·
Registered
432 Posts
Its around 800 per lap. Its my least favorite of that series.

The Breck race being my favorite. PV is great fun as well.

If you like a lot of climbing do the Indian Creek race. Its brutal :)
Sent from my HTC6990LVW using Board Express

·
Registered
418 Posts
Interesting. I did the half marathon 2 years ago and loved it on this course. Not technical and really fast. A lot of places to hammer along on flats. I'm kinda heavy at 175 lbs so that type of course suits me better then the 10-30 min. climbs. Just be weary of the weather. They had to re-schedule it one year because it was so muddy out there. It has a really cool finish line in the trees by the stream with people hanging out etc. Good vibe.

·
Wrench
769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Good information guys. 800 and 6 laps isn't too much to worry about.

Bike Guy, I'm with you. I float around 175 and 180 (Slightly heavier after a winter of weights) and like the sustained climbs.

This is the first race of the season for me. After that, I have an XC race in Wyoming and the Growler 100km later that month. I'm using it as a fitness test.

I'd love to race the Breck. I'm thinking of signing up for the Firecracker 50.

·
Registered
432 Posts