Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for some opinions on anyone who has had success with improving week after week at a weekly racing series.

Me: I race expert class, have a few lucky wins under my belt, but have never been consistent. Last outing got beat by over a minute in a 50 min race... hence the need much more speed and possible training advice. I have been racing for fun for 10+ years but am the first to admit that I know almost nothing about training or nutrition. Never owned nor would want to own a HRM (wrong personality for that). I also travel a ton for work which keeps me from sticking to any kind of biking schedule, but to have a baseline ideal schedule I think would be good.

So lets say you were doing a 10-week race series with the race being every Wednesday... What would be the ideal schedule if life didn't get in the way? Here's what I would do:
Wed - race (50min)
Thur - easy day recovery (1hr)
Fri - off
Sat - 2hrs intervals or near race effort
Sun - 4hr long ride moderate pace
Mon - 1hr intervals or near race effort
Tue - off
Wed - race (50 min)

What do you guys think?

·
EAT MORE GRIME
(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
7,914 Posts
not enough easy days IMHO.

what is with 2 days off ? no days off. you have 30 minutes, go 30 minutes ultra-high-cadence for one day, the other day off, do 30 minutes medium one leg at a time for 45 seconds each. mix it up. move them legs

someone will chime in with much better advice.

·
Registered
2,659 Posts
I like going into our mid week series with a pretty big base. 3 months building to 10-15 hours a week.

First month of series, drop the weekly hours to about 10-12. then last month drop to about 7-8 hours a week, for a nice peak.

In our series we have A, B, and C, and I usually do pretty well in the Bs.