Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to that site and must thank everyone for the quality information dispensed here. Even if it sometimes is a bit of an overlaod for me ...

I have not been on a bike for about 15 years and feel ready to get back - so that I started looking at bikes and have gathered a bit of info on them.

It may sound stupid (actually I am sure it does) - but with all I have seen, I have not been able to really understand the difference between types of bikes. People talk about Hard Tails and Full Suspension - which I understand, and then make the difference between XC, Full Mountain, Dirt, Freeride, DH .... I am lost.

What's the difference between all of these? What's a good thing to start with to use in mixed environments? I was thinking Hardtail Cross Country (I even have it down to a couple of models: Rockhopper and Trek 6500) - but that is mainly an uninformed default decision based on what I have seen people start with.

Thanks for your help!
Marc

·
Registered
462 Posts