Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

What's your setup?

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With my riding style, I tend to bounce my outer ring off of everything. So, I’ve been riding a 3 rings + bashguard for the past 3 years. I just recently bought a new bike so I’m trying to decide what setup to put on it. I don’t race and I can’t remember the last time I was in my big ring, so I’m thinking I may not need it. I was just curious what setup people are running who ride the same type trails as me.

·
Registered
388 Posts
Elephant rider

2 rings and a bashguard is perfect for me. I had the same "I never use my big ring anyway" mindset, and after I did the first bike like that, I never switched back. I live in FL now, and still never changed any of my set-ups. They slide on logs, so you never get that teeth embedded feeling. If you have the urge to change back, it is not too much $$, so I would definitely give it a try.

·
Registered
402 Posts
2 Rings then hang up

I've been using 2 ring and a bash guard for 7 years. I like the tech stuff at Ringwood. Aside from that, the big ring once torn into my calf. I now have a nice scar with 5 teeth marks. Looks like I was malled by a very big cat. :eek:

·
Registered
83 Posts
I've had a 2 ring and bash setup for the past 4 years, I think it's a perfect setup for North Jersey. After way too many chainring scars on my legs and having to consider getting dental insurance for the the teeth on my big ring, I decided it was the best way to go.

·
lotto baby
553 Posts
i just removed the 3rd chainring on my FS and put in a bashring. i tested it out yesterday. great fun. now i have even better clearance on top of the smooth ring that slides.

...and i have an SS (bashring on that too) - and i love rocks!

·
Registered
256 Posts
3 rings nekid