Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Thank a Soldier Today
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner racer. I raced twice last season. I had great fun but finished about in the middle of the beginner class each time. I want to get smart and start training right to do much better in 2009! Look at my picture from my second summer race. I'm smoked and I only did the beginner course...:eek:

I've began to read (or decipher) Friel. I'm getting it slowly. I've at least created my annual plan.

I think I'm suppose to be in my base period but I'm not sure what to do. The weekly plans are nothing but confusing.

As a beginner, I know my best improvements will come from riding as much as I can but weather and little sunlight is prohibiting me from doing so.

I've been weight training and running several times a week. I'm considering taking spinning classes. I continue to work on losing weight since I'm 200lbs and could easily stand to lose about 20lbs.

With race season 12 weeks away, I feel I'm getting behind because of my learning curve.

Anyone mind throwing me a bone? I've read several chapters from Friel and read Ned Overend's book. I just don't feel that I get what I need to be doing. Personal trainer would be nice but I certainly don't want to spend that kind of cash.

Thanks in advanced. :thumbsup:

Btw, my wife bought me a heart rate monitor for Christmas. I'm glad this thing tells time because I'm not sure what else to do with it! LOL :skep:

Attachments

·
Registered
1,108 Posts
glad to hear you've caught the bug.

it can be a little confusing at first... well actually, that never ends.

think of training as a very individual thing, what works for one rider does not for others. the most important thing is to think long-term or season long (no ONE workout will make you the best racer you can be, it is all the work and rest combined), listen to your body and RECOVERY is just as important as the training.