Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll keep it short.

2 weeks ago went shopping a week before a big MTB trip.

Wanted to get a 5010 X01.

None in stock at a huge lbs with multiple locations.

Found a few online that could be shipped at competitive cyclist or wherever. (No tax bonus even)

Ordered last one from SC west warehouse at LBS to support local yadada

Came with scratch on Friday, we were leaving on the next day Saturday.

It's a small nick more accurately.

Yellow Bicycle tire Nail Bicycle frame Engineering

Dealer "made it right" by offering $100 off, that's like 1.4%. Would not offer anything else!

We were so pissed and unfortunately I"ll be buying online from now on. I'm a big bike mechanic and own 10+ bikes. I'll build all my friends bikes they order online for free over recommending this "highly rated" LBS. These guys wouldn't even make time to put on my invisiframe the day my bike came in (They probably have 10+ mechanics on staff at any given time). It's easy to DIY so I spent 2 hours doing it.

We walked out of the store with the bike and a sour feeling but we weren't going to let a scratch ruin our 9 day MTB trip.

Is it worth trying to get in touch with Santa Cruz for additional compensation or just to complain?

Am I just expecting too much.

·
No Clue Crew
7,648 Posts
If you're a "big bike mechanic" and own "10+ bikes," why did you need a last-minute 5010 for a trip?

While your situation isn't great (and your photo doesn't show, so I can't see how bad said scratch is), the LBS got you your bike in time for your trip. But it was scratched. As an adult, you had the option of walking away from the deal and riding one of your other 10+ bikes, correct?