Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

· Registered
686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have ~725 miles on my 12 speed chain and it needs to be replaced. Used in mostly dry conditions, kept clean and lubed religiously. I know several factors can affect this but I'm a bit surprised. This seems a bit short on lifespan, but I'm new to 12 speed. Could you share your experience?

· Registered
686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the quick replies everyone. I'm at ~1,500 miles and over 150k' of climbing this year so I guess that's a decent amount of climbing?

I used the Park CC-4 tool and it's showing .5 wear...

I made the mistake of running an 11 speed chain for ~1500 miles and replacing the cassette and small chain ring of another bike before...

· Registered
3,684 Posts
Can you guys explain this wax thing, how often you apply it and the process to apply?
There’s some good YouTube vids out there, too detailed to reply in this forum.

Pathlesspedaled just did a vid about it last week but they don’t get into the technical details.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
1) Buy cheap crock pot

2) Buy canning paraffin from grocery store

3) Melt paraffin in crock pot

4) Clean chain in mineral spirits (if used). Swish around in a cup of mineral spirits for a minute or two.

5) Thread the two ends of the chain on a bent spoke for easy retrieval, and dunk in the crock pot at least until no bubbles emerge when agitated. Remove/hang chain to cool.

6) Install on bike, pedal backwards to break off stiff wax.

You do not need to strip a new chain, since liquified (hot) paraffin is a top-tier degreaser for petroleum based lubricants. The lighter lubricants in the chain will simply flash off in the hot pot of wax. Most people will use 2-3 chains rotating so they can just swap on a new one when it starts making noise/balky shifting.