Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interested in building a wheelset from scratch for my Asta. What rim/hub/spoke combo would you recommend. Keep in mind it's my first attempt at wheel building, so I don't want the best of the best. Just good, durable, light (er), and reasonably priced. Links to products would be appreciated. Easy maintenance hubs a plus. FYI, I find the Novatec hubs are easy to service.

Thanks!

·
ride hard take risks
25,423 Posts
If your going to take the time to build your wheels you might as well go fer it and build a quality set within your budget.I have used allot of WTB wheel sets they are durable but they cant seem to eliminate the side play. My son has a Sun Ringle DH wheel sets that have seen the UCI and NORBA wars 10 years ago they are still rolling and holding up great with only a bearing change on each set. So now I am going back to Sun products for wheels. :cornut:

http://www.spadout.com/c/wheels/

http://www.sun-ringle.com/

·
Registered
467 Posts
These are a good quality start. I'd shop for these parts on dog's Spadout link for the best deals.

Hubs: Hope Pro 2 Disc
Rims: Mavic 317 Disc
Spokes: DT Swiss Competition 2.0/1.8 or Revolution 2.0/1.5 (w/ alloy nips)
Rim Tape: Velox

The hubs are very solid and should last a long, long time. The rims are very affordable while still being XC oriented. The spokes are top-notch and pricey, but will save you a good deal of weight being double butted. At 160lbs, you could easily ride the Revo's. I would tie & solder these, too!

Disclaimer: You will save a good deal of money (and frustration perhaps) by purchasing a pre-made wheelset. However, you will have a lot more satisfaction building and riding your own.

Good luck and let us know how the build goes!

·
Registered
76 Posts
I just ordered a bunch of stuff from Cambriabike.com--25% coupon expires today (details on their home page).

I'm 200lb ride weight, mellow XC.