Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Found this article

Why You Should Never Buy a 12? Bike! (with one exception) | Two Wheeling Tots

While I saw some familiar points, I was confused by the author's arguments that seemed to say that a slack seat tube angle was the most important thing.

I thought I had read here that kids are expected to prefer a more upright torso position, but the author seems to argue the opposite. She seems to be saying arguing for a more aggressive handlebar position and a slacker seat tube.

Maybe I had a hard time understanding what she was saying because I have an engineering degree and she admittedly doesn't.

But in the end, she ended up with the same conclusion as many here - the Specialized Hotrock 12 is the best and possibly the only good 12. (I wonder if she considered the TrekJet 12.)

Thoughts?

·
Registered
542 Posts
From what I can read, the author is making a flawed argument... Near the beginning, she states:
The closer we are to the fulcrum (the crank – where the pedals attach to the bike), the less leverage (the ability to apply pressure) we have.
This is certainly correct. However, she then goes into a long argument that it's the "seat-to-fulcrum" distance that matters in this scenario. THis statement, alas, is bogus. There are three factors which govern how easy a bike is to pedal:
The length of the crank-arms (which is the "distance to the fulcrum" that she mentions)
The gear-ratio between crank and wheel (1 turn of the crank == ??? turns of the wheel. For a tricycle this factor is 1.0, for a bike maybe not)
The size of the wheel

Bicyclists have a science of measuring this called "gear-inches."

·
Registered
334 Posts