Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started riding again a week or two ago. I've been feeling fine but after about an hour my arms start to go numb.

Not sore, but numb. Any ideas what might be causing this? Help would be appreciated!

·
Registered
3,711 Posts
You don't say whether you have front suspension. Continual vibration over rough terrain on a rigid bike might induce numbness in the hands and forearms. The other thought is that you have something going on in your neck or upper back. You may want to get a fitment checkout from a LBS. Adjustments to your stem/bars and saddle position might help if that's the cause.

·
Registered
121 Posts
This started happening to me after I dislocated my shoulders. Whether the numbness/tingling is caused by nerve damage or pressure on the nerves, the way I avoid it is to constantly move my hands around on the bars, including periodically lifting each hand off the bars and rotating that shoulder around to keep it loose. I also use bar ends, and wear gloves that have some padding on the palm/heel of my hands. If you can keep moving your hands around, and keep your shoulders loose instead of scrunched up around your ears, you should be able to avoid the numb hands. Works for me, anyway. Good luck.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Sorry I should have mentioned I do have a front suspension but I have it locked out. I'm riding on a fairly smooth bike trail without much vibration. I'm riding a Cannondale Quick CX3

If I take my hands off and shake my arms out they feel better after about a minute or so. I'll try moving my hands around, I was thinking I might not have enough bend in my arms or something but I get a little bend now.

·
Registered
12 Posts