Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw a thread about this awhile ago, but failed to find it. I've been
curious about this myself, and because I'm an engineering student
I'd like to offer my analysis to the community.

We start with Hayes operating specifications (the only ones
I could find), which should be similar for all hydraulic brakes.
III. Operating Temperatures:

El Camino, Mag, MX: -20ºF - 120ºF

HFX Nine & Sole: 0ºF - 120ºF
IV. Hydraulic Pressures

Mag, Nine, Sole: 0-1700 psi

First, we must find the force on one bolt. Because
all bolts are at the same distance from the center
we can simplify things.

From figure, F=7060N

We use this load value to find the average shear stress
on one bolt with full braking torque applied.

Tau(1-bolt) = 411MPa

Of course we have six bolts normally, and the stress
is divided evenly between them all.

Tau(6-bolt) = 68.5MPa
Tau(3-bolt) = 137MPa

Next we will find the static safety factor. This
will represent the likelihood of failure under constant
deceleration with maximum braking torque applied.
We are using the maximum tensile load for a low carbon
steel bolt (Sy=400MPa), which is not very high strength.
See Figure.

FoS(1-bolt) = 0.973
Fos(3-bolt) = 2.92
Fos(6-bolt) = 5.84

So, most engineers design for a safety factor greater
than 2, so with low carbon steel bolts when we are running
3 of them we are nearing our ideal safety margin,
although this is still pretty safe for a weight weeny.

Now, we will compare with some lighter bolts. Obviously,
I am assuming that you are going to shell out for some
nice bolts. Data from Racebolts, and Matweb, although
I had to guess what Titanium they are using as they
do not specify on Racebolts.com.

FoS(1-bolt) = 1.12
Fos(3-bolt) = 3.37
Fos(6-bolt) = 6.74

FoS(1-bolt) = 1.21
Fos(3-bolt) = 3.62
Fos(6-bolt) = 7.24

Conclusions

It looks to be perfectly safe to run 3-bolts on a disc brake