Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Ardent 2.25 vs Ardent Race 2.2 for hardpack to loose conditions.

• Ardent 2.25

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, new guy here. Just wanted to ask which of the two would be better at hardpack to loose conditions, and which is also better for grip. Not really a fan on speedy tires, I'm more on grip due to the rainy season now in my country. And yeah even when it rains I still send it on my xc bike. I just bought an Ikon 2.2 for my rear and I'm still tryna find a great, grippy tire on the front. Tried some Ardent 2.25's a couple of months ago when I borrowed it from a friend cause my bike was broken after a crash. Rode it on dry conditions, pretty nice and fast. Very grippy but I wonder how they would do in loose conditions. Or maybe AR's cause some riders say their also reallg grippy and somewhat just a little slower than Ikons. Any suggestions? Newbie here.

·
Registered
6,126 Posts
The 2.2 Ardent Race is better all around when compared to the straight Ardent..

Only area where they may be close is rolling resistance.

The Race is better under braking and has better grip when leant over.

Use to run 2.35 and 2.2 AR's on my ole Transition Bandit 29.

Killer combo for that bike.

Sent from my Asus Rog 3

·
Registered
38 Posts
Yep things get pretty slick here in the wet season. I've been happy with an Ardent Race max spd 3C EXO TR 2.35 out front for the past couple seasons riding XC/trail. Nice balance of speed volume and grip in all conditions, running at 18-20 psi on a 24 mm rim. Could use something grippier at times but like the versatility and they are holding up very well so far.

·
Registered
1,857 Posts