Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
279 Posts
I would think the trails are rideable, especially if you get out early in the day while it's still frozen. I live off of north virginia, sort of on the side of peavine, and have been contemplating a mtn bike ride. Took the touring bike out for a spin a couple of days ago, it felt good to get on a bike.

·
Registered
78 Posts
I haven't been out since the snow flew three or four weeks ago, but I've ridden every winter for the past 10 years, so I have some experience to fall back on. The hills all got between 1-3 feet in that first storm depending on how high you can get and all have received an additional foot or more since, including a 2+ inch dusting last night. Naturally there will have been some melt and compression of the snowpack, but it's been cold to bitter cold every day since the first big snow last month.

My prediction is that anything on Peavine with a south-facing slope should be rideable with a few inches of snow on it, though it might be pretty crusty and though to ride if riders haven't already tracked it up. Anything on a north facing slope, and you'll find a lot of those on just about any Peavine trail, will have unrideable drifts that you will have to push through. We're looking at another 2-4 or more inches of snow tonight (Tuesday the 29th) and tomorrow morning.

I believe Pugdawg suggested riding early when everything is still frozen - that is the gospel for winter riding around here unless you like carrying a 40+ pound bike out of your ride, assuming there's been enough melt to create mudholes lately.

Edit: oops, I see that my comments are already a day late, as you arrived yesterday. Oh well, maybe somebody else will find them useful.

·
Registered
174 Posts