Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ive been riding trails for a few months now maybe and have yet to ride skeggs, ive been told its pretty big so i was wondering if anyones down to show me around and give me a tour of all the best stuff there.

ill be ready to ride sunrise to sunset, cheers

-james

·
Registered
128 Posts
Hi James,

I'll be there some time in the afternoon, but my schedule's pretty... unresolved right now. If you happen to be up there and see me (baby blue bike, red wheels) and my bro-in-law (black Specialized Epic) do say hi.

·
Registered
3,974 Posts
Hey man, just in case you dont have a guide.

Park at the Skeggs point parking. Roll down the hill 1/10th of a mile and the trail head will be on your left. This is the main trail head. There are trail maps there.

These days, many of the good trail that completes a loop are closed. But you can do this:
Go down Sierra Montaro-->Bear gulch road-->Blue Blossom. Then up hill at crosscut-->crossover-->turn right up toward Manzanita.

At the top of Manzanita (a 4 way junction), ride straight and up mildly to the next junction where you turn left to go toward Resolution.

Ride resolution to the bottom, then down El Corte(not up since it is close). At this point, I usually just ride the star hill road back to hwy35 and to the parking lot, or continue north leaf, then south leaf, then exit to the road and ride back to the parking. This loop takes 2.5 to 3.5 hrs, depending on your strength.

If this is your first time there, try not to ride down toward Virginia Mill. That is a long long way to the bottom and will take forever to climb back.

Basic rule at Skeggs. Avoid fireroads anytime you can. Some of them get steep and long. And there are rangers with radar guns. So hold your speed.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·