Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I've been riding on Bontrager Jones XRs for around six months. I've liked them on the road and canals, but they don't do so well dirt and rocks. They slide in turns and down hills...if I apply any brakes.

I tried some Bontrager AcX tires a few weeks ago and though they gripped much beeter on the trail, but were really squirly on the pavement. So much so, I went down on some gravel:madmax:

I just baought a set of IRC FreedomCross tires, on the sales persons word that they were sticky on the dirt and realatively fast rolling and sure footed on the pavement. I searched the reviews, but there were none for this tire.

Has anyone had any experience with either of these tires to confirm my findings and the salespersons claims?

I know there are no perfect tires...I'm just tring to save myself from road rash and broken bones:D

I'm a novice, so I'm not discounting my lack of experience as part of the issue either...

·
Photog Cyclist.
401 Posts
GF---
This tire goes by the name Trail Bear--I know I have seen some reviews in the review section.

I use the 2.25 in the front on my hard tail---I like it--rolls well--hooks up on hard-pack and works well in the sandy loose stuff. Nice tire a little heavy but good sidewalls and holds up well.

·
I Love my Rize
830 Posts
Best all around tire made to date

I run the Trailbears and LOVE them. They roll great on the pavement and have KILLER grip in MOST situation's. Here is a link to the reviews. They are VERY LONG WEARING. Also they are very inexpensive online and sometimes they go on super sale for 13 bucks per tire. PricePoint and Performance usually have the best deals on them.

http://www.mtbr.com/reviews/Tire/product_124046.shtml

Attachments

·
I Love my Rize
830 Posts
No comparison

GF_TASS said:
How would the TrailBears compare to the Mythos XCs at the same price?