Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not sure where to ask this question as the 29er forum may be a Little biased. I have sold my 26 carbon HT Scott Scale and plan on purchasing a 29 HT. Of course I have read of many satisfied 29er customers but is there anyone who has purchased a 29 then reverted back to a 26?

·
No, that's not phonetic
14,313 Posts
I sold mine (Sultan). I just like the way my Flux, 5-Spot, and 6-Pack handle better. There are some cool 29ers out there, but there are better 26ers imho.

·
Registered
235 Posts
Not completely. After going 29er for a year, I decided to get the best of both.
I now use a 69er. I like my 29er HT better than my friends 29er FS.
I think if your going 29er you must keep it light to take advantage of the large wheel.
JMHO.

·
Relax. I'm a pro.
1,464 Posts
The Gary Fisher 29er that I tried was slow and boring. I still prefer my 26" HT. If you need bigger wheels to roll over stuff better, you need to upgrade your skills.

·
Registered
2,811 Posts
I tried a few suspension 29r frames

and decided to keep my 26rs. My feelings might be because I'm a short guy with short legs but thats how I felt. I liked the DW Sultan best and then the Ventana El Rey, possibly due to the great standover and small sizing available, but I'm sticking with my old bikes.
I have however been considering a 29r SS custom built for my shortness.

·
Registered
643 Posts
i've ridden a 29er for about a year, and all i can think about right now is getting a 26er DJ/Urban bike.

·
Registered
145 Posts
29er

I was very hesitant about the 29er thing at first. I had a FS 26er at the time. My LBS had to offer a 29er HT demo to try for me to even consider one. Well, long story short, I was blown away. I for one would NEVER go back to a XC 26er. I might, on the other hand, consider a 26er DH bike in the future.

I can't wait to try a 36er !!! :eek:

·
Registered
2,816 Posts