Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
So I studied the crap out of reviews/forums on here before I bought new tires, and I came to the conclusion that minions would be a good fit for me. I have the DHR/DHF combo in 2.5" I've been trying to like these tires for a couple of months, but I just can't trust them around tight dusty corners. They wash out leaving me near crashing.:madman: I know most people love them. I've narrowed the problem down to a few things, and I would appreciate your feedback.

1. I have them in the hardest durometer(60a). Perhaps this is not sticky enough to keep traction.

2. Are they made for a wetter climate? I live in southern Utah, and we get a pretty good mix of everything(depending on the day). It seems that they really only have problems on dry stuff.

3. I need to work on my cornering technique. (I've ridden for nearly ten years, and I am pretty smooth. I love to rail corners. I just have a hard time thinking that the problem is purely technique. However It could be the case.)

I'm also thinking about something different, that would be good in all conditions. I am more on the dh side of all mountain. I am thinking nevegals, or maybe ardents. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated! Sorry this is long, I just want it to be clear! THanks in advance!!

·
Registered
534 Posts
I came from Nevegals, but I much prefer the Minions in 2.35 60A, I dislike the Nevegals in every way to Minions other than their volume, and it's dry here mostly.

One thing I did notice once was that when I came from WTB Prowlers which are very good tires and well stiped with uniform knobs and went to High Rollers and hated them, especially in the wet and still think they are bad climbers, (sketchy with a nasty dead-zone I thought at the time). Then this summer I went back on the same set of High Rollers from Minions and quite liked them.:rolleyes: