Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I became interested in single speed because I am in awe of my little son doing well in the trails with his BMX bike.

Now I am thinking about just using a rear brake like his BMX also.

Has anyone else done this?

·
Registered
503 Posts
I rode with a guy recently that ran only a rear disc brake on a 1x9. He said he never really had a problem but i have tried that and on some of the steep stuff i like a front brake so i dont slide the rear down locked out. Depends on the trails i guess.

·
Registered
811 Posts
It definitely depends on what you're doing, but I have a hard time relying on 1 single brake. I'm a computer technician, so I come from a background of having to back up important data on multiple locations since we all know hard drives can fail at any time (yes, even brand new ones). I take that mentality on when it comes to bikes.

I don't want to lose any data on my hard drive because I have pictures of people who are no longer with me.

[I don't want to rely on one brake because if that one brake fails my face is in a brick wall.]

But I'm also a hardtail lovin mountain biker, so two brakes makes sense for me. :p

·
Registered
81 Posts
dd61999 said:
I became interested in single speed because I am in awe of my little son doing well in the trails with his BMX bike.

Now I am thinking about just using a rear brake like his BMX also.

Has anyone else done this?
Strange. I could see having only a front brake as that is what I use for the majority of my braking. However using only a rear brake would amount to either a pretty slow day on the trails or a broken something or other.

·
Jacob 34:19
508 Posts