Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
zeebot
1,125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm riding that race this year and will most likely be riding a geared full suspension rig but i'm just curious if anyone has done it on single speed? I hate riding geared bikes and would love to bring my vicious down instead of riding a crack'n'fail scalpel.

input, advice????

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
I've talked with a guy who generally only..

rides SS, and he'd done La Ruta twice and said an SS would be a bad idea. He's pretty fit as well. From his description of the race, you'll enjoy those gears.

·
zeebot
1,125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I was actually sorta kidding. I dont think it's possible to ride that race on a SS. After searching google and reading some stories i now know for a fact it would be suicide:)

45mile climb up a 12,000ft volcano? ez.

I enjoy signing up for things that i've little knowledge of other than a few stories from a racer i met last weekend:) I picked a doozy this time!

note to self: do research before spending $650 and buying a 400 dollar plane ticket!

and for the guy asking how fit you should be...you want to be in good enough shape to climb all day for 100mi in 12 hours or less.

·
zeebot
1,125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
ERoman said:
I'm gonna pose the question to I.F., fly my a$$ down there and I'm in for the long slow haul...29" SingleSpeed! Anyone?
$650 for the race includes transportation from san jose airport, lodging and breakfast dinner + support at the aid stations. my plane ticket was $379 from JFK flying out wednesday night and coming back late monday night after the race.