Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4,831 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I live in the city so I can only mountain bike on the weekends and while I don't have plans to race, it's just more fun when you're in better shape and not dying on the hills and can power through the rocks. Anyway, I've been doing something like this for a few months now and it seems to be working. But could it be better? Is it too much/too little? I used to be big into lifting (495/405/545 S/B/D) but if I gain too much size it makes the biking harder on hills so I'm trying to strike a balance.

Saturday - 3-5 hour mountain bike ride
Sunday - legs - squats or deadlifts, SLDL's, weighted glute bridges or hip thrusters, banded clamshells OR shoulders/tris - overhead press, some variation of DB presses (Arnold's, incline, etc), DB front & lateral raises, various core work
Monday - Back/biceps - pullups, DB or BB rows, pullovers, reverse flys, some variety of curls, various core work + 2-3 mile walk
Tuesday - 20-25 mile road bike ride
Wednesday - Chest/tris - BB bench, DB flys, dips, skull crushers or DB extensions, various core work + 2-3 mile walk
Thursday - 20-25 mile road bike ride
Friday - off

I don't always have the steam to do leg day after my longer Saturday rides so I'm going to alternate leg day/shoulder day as my Sunday weights day every other week.

·
Registered
344 Posts
I’ll let you know once I start riding again!🤣 Gonna have to figure out how to balance training with riding...

Long story short...haven’t ridden in close to 10 years. Working on getting my hardtail rideable again & have a new 29r on the way. I’m dying to get back out there... I got out of riding due to some life circumstances & just got more into powerlifting. Hit some ok numbers...500/365/605 S/B/D, but now at 41 & a lot more beat up from the weights...I’m moving away from heavy lifting.