Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· How do I do that?
561 Posts
I've been using mine for about 4-5 months now and I like it. I used to have the CB Mule but got sick and tired of having to remove the contents so I could put the bladder inside the bag each time. After I stuff the bladder and place the tools, pump, tubes etc. back in, I'd wind up with a log shaped back pack.

Anyway, I love the Race EXP Air. It is bigger then the Mule and at times, I feel like its a bit tall but I prefer the extra capacity and it doesn't feel awkward at all. The venting system they use for the back is simply awesome and actually allows it to sit very stable against my back. I ride in triple digit Arizona summers and that little bit of venting against the back actually helps IMO. I could also put a filled bladder in the bag without having to remove the contents each time and the bag doesn't change the way it rests on my back wether its full or not. The aluminum framed backing/mesh feels and sits the same at all times.

It doesn't have as many little pockets and compartments as I like since the main compartment is just one big pit (it does have one small zippered pouch inside the main compartment)but I just use a smaller pouch/bag to keep small tools in and place that in the bag to keep things organized. I haven't used the built in helmet holder or the wet weather cover yet though. I actually don't understand the point of a helmet holder but it's there if I need it:???:

The water in the Dueters tastes better then the CB bladders as well IMO. I could also stick my hand in the bladder to clean the inside out since it has a large opening. The only gripe I have is the mouth piece. I have the older smaller piece but it dripped and leaked a lot if it didn't close properly, which was often so I switched it to my old CB mouth piece. I know the newer bladder uses a larger different mouth piece so it might not be a problem anymore.