Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Jabberwocky Jockey
809 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding a full squishy for several years along with a rigid singlespeed that has gotten more trail time than the F/S in the past few years. No more than I ride the fs bike I have to do alot of maintenance on the pivots e.t.c to keep everything tight.
In short I am starting to get a little disenchanted with the fs and am thinking of going back to a good hardtail.

Anybody else had this happen??

·
Mantis, Paramount, Campy
4,749 Posts
How About FS to Full Rigid

I've got 3 full rigid bikes and a 'cross bike that each log more miles than my FS rig now.

I will admit that I never 100% committed to full suspension; at best I was splitting time 50/50 between FS and a hardtail. I found FS bikes offered no overall improvement in riding. Sure you gain some "comfort" if you're going to be out riding for 6+ hours but (when riding rigid for years) you also have to learn a different riding style to take advantage of that. For race situations and trail type riding the fastest way for me to get from point A to boint B is on a rigid bike. And going back to rigid leaves 2 less potential problems behind: blown shocks front and rear. I had my fair share of both of those happen in the middle of nowhere. Not fun.

·
Registered
10 Posts
I grew up racing bmx in the 70's and understand the hardtail and the method of riding. But I haven't touched my hardtail since I went FS. I still ride like I'm on a hardtail but I don't think the honeymoon between my butt and my FS will ever end :D Comfort combined with being able to get more braking action when skittering down a slope of wet rocks :eek:

·
Registered
2,585 Posts