Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2,540 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking into building a ski bike. First I'd better find out where I can run them!

Any resorts that allow lift access for ski bikes? Northstar doesn't advertise ski bikes anymore.

·
We need more wax
307 Posts
On Saturday I saw one at the top of KT-22 at Squaw. Never have seen one at Alpine Meadows where I have had a pass for many years.

·
Registered
2,540 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Oh, cool. Thanks for those leads. So they are at Northstar?! Will these resorts also allow you to take your own ski bike up or do they require use of their own?

tahoetic,

You mean you've been riding ski bikes for 10 years? Can you give me some pointers on building a ski bike? Where's the best/better places for lift access with nice long runs?

·
Registered
219 Posts
Yes, I have been riding ski bikes for ten years. Sierra, Northstar, and Heavenly for long runs. They are very popular in Colorado. My bike has about 9 inches of travel. My current set up is a Marzocchi Roco RC World Cup in the back and a fastec coil with up force damping in the front. The best skis to use are Salomon SB 99cm. PM me if you have any questions.

·
Registered
2,730 Posts
How does it handle in the steeps, bumps, and tight spots? I could see how they would be a blast on the long, fast groomies and jumps off all kinds. My buddy built one years ago, but nowhere's near as trick as yours. Cool stuff. Nice video.

·
Registered
2,540 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
That video was awesome. Since I'm not a skier or boarder, i can still enjoy the snow-covered slopes on one of these.