Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Basically I'm having low blood sugar problems while training.

This is my first year of serious training for racing. In the past my rides rarely lasted past an hour or so and never had the prolonged intensity that I train with now.

My fasting and overnight levels are normal. Its when I go on 2-3 hour rides, I experience severe blood sugar drops. For example, last saturday I went on a 2.5 hour trail ride: My blood sugar before the ride was 250, I ate an orange before the ride(w/o insulin), during the ride I drank 30 grams of carbs in Gatorade, and still at the end of the ride my blood sugar was around 60.

Right now I use a system of (fast acting)Novolog and Lantus(glargine) baseline insulin. I'm really comfortable with this and would like to know if theres any way to adapt this system to endurance workouts. If not, how well does the pump work for endurance athetes? I'm just trying to figure out what other type 1 cyclists do.

Thanks

·
Registered
6,848 Posts
kbiker3111 said:
Basically I'm having low blood sugar problems while training.

This is my first year of serious training for racing. In the past my rides rarely lasted past an hour or so and never had the prolonged intensity that I train with now.

My fasting and overnight levels are normal. Its when I go on 2-3 hour rides, I experience severe blood sugar drops. For example, last saturday I went on a 2.5 hour trail ride: My blood sugar before the ride was 250, I ate an orange before the ride(w/o insulin), during the ride I drank 30 grams of carbs in Gatorade, and still at the end of the ride my blood sugar was around 60.