Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Caught a post in xc racing about cooking healthy meals for recovery and overall nutriontion thought i would get it going in the passion forum. I am a corporate chef and cooking all day, then coming home to train leaves little time for any lengthy meals. Never really feel like cooking anything by dinner time. I live on tuna fish, pasta, oatmeal, cottage cheese, olive oil, protien bars and shakes, through in some veggies and thats about it. Canned tuna doesnt just have to be mayo and bread. Throw in some hot sauce, fresh herbs, chickpeas or white beans, lemon juice, olive oil, diced pickles, capers, olives, raisins or dried apricots and you have a very nice meal that takes minutes to make. Lets here some of your favorite snacks/meals.

dt3

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
The thread in the XC racing forum was asking for healthy cheap meals. Sounds like the chef has some tuna conctions that would be good to add. I can see the ingredients you mention but can't come up with a whole meal from it.

My cheapest meals are always left overs. If I eat leaft overs, it is essentially a free meal.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Second on the hummus. I keep a fresh supply about 50 weeks out of the year.

Some things I really like (and are very easy and quick):
Kasha (boiled buckwheat) with sharp cheese.
Oatmeal with anything, more or less.
Steamed whatever is in season with quinoa.
Classic PB&J.
Toasted pita with greens, nuts, dried fruit, and plain yogurt garnish.
Living in Florida, all citrus.
All tea all the time.
No meat.

Beeer. Chocolate.

·
Registered
243 Posts
Panini and Burritos

Two of my favorites:

Breakfast burritos (anytime of day)
Paninis... I've been hooking up some Cubano variations

..if you like hummus, then make falafel (sp?).. you can make a ton of hummus and falafel at the same time... falafel freezes well. You can bake them (brush with olive oil) if you don't want fried.