Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Another newbie here. I did some (very little) road racing / riding back in high school. That was over 20 years ago.

In the last 10 years I found myself on a sport bike, throttling myself down the x axis of the earth at 130 mph on the local race tracks. While that's fun, it does a metric ton of damage to your bank account. That, and at 40 years old, I'd like to find a hobby that won't kill me so easily.

So, here I am. I'm looking at different entry level mountain bikes to continue my 2 wheel thrills. I'm a sponge right now. Any and all advice is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

·
Rogue Exterminator
4,951 Posts
Used to ride and race motorcycles and although mountain bikes are cheaper they can do considerable damage to you bank account too. Especially if you get in to racing them.
The benefit though is in your health.

Anyways, like motorcycles you get what you pay for. Entry level means different things to different people. What is your budget? Where do you live and what trails will you be riding? What type of bike are you wanting, etc etc.

Soak up the stickies at the top of this forum. It will give you some answers and help you ask the right questions.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have my heart set on a Specialized Hardrock 29er. Not the best bike in the world, but at ~ $500, I won't lose much sleep if I decide this isn't the sport / hobby for me. I went to a local bike shop and the Specialized fit me well.

I saw some of the "better" bikes at a tune of $6000! My wife is already shaking her head. She knows I have the tendency to go full retard when I dive into something I really like to do.

And I live in the DFW area in Texas.

·
Vincit qui patitur
745 Posts
My wife is already shaking her head. She knows I have the tendency to go full retard when I dive into something I really like to do.
My fiance shook her head too.