Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
i worship Mr T
5,543 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, so this is another one of my sacreligious roadie posts but i figured that there are any number of people who would be able to relate to the inept feeling of dealing with your first flat...

-----Original Message-----
Sent: Monday, October 16, 2006 3:48 PM
To: rt
Subject: tires

"Anything worth doing is worth doing over" Anon.(as far as I know)

'Repitition is the mother of learning." Anon.

A new life experience for your father. I got a flat tire on my bike. Believe it or not, it never happened to me before. anyway I was perhaps a mile from home and pedaled back. Just to be sure I took the wheel off, reinflated it and put it in a tray of water. After about a half rotation I saw the air bubbles rising. (I'm a scientist, you know).

I pulled out the pair of levers and the inner tube that I've been lugging around since I purchased the bike. Never having actually done
this before, it was not surprising to me that it took about a half hour to get the tire off the rim. I replaced the inner tube and got
the tire back on. At this point I noticed the instructions for doing this on the inner tube box and , although relieved that I did it
right, realized I did not make sure THE penetrating fragment was removed. So, I TOOK THE TIRE OFF.

Good thing I did. I found the minute shard and got it out. The tire and inner tube was then replaced on the rim in shorter order than
before, when I went to inflate, it was not possible because the stem was barely long enough to extend thru the rim. Even pulling on it
with a pliers was useless. So, downtown I went and showed it to the guy who told me it was the wrong size inner tube (Many thanks to the
moron at the Cary bike shop). Bought two new ones, went home and TOOK THE TIRE OFF AGAIN.

Once again I reassembled the tire, filled it with air and went out for a now rather chilly ride.