Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, i used to race a hardtail 26 (well equipped trek 8000), this year i was gonna go with the paragon, but they were out. I also had been wantin to go fs for a while so I went with the sugar 292 (The ex9 was a bit high in price imho). I love the bike but Im kinda weary bout racing it, should I rebuild my old 26er for races? Im tryin it this weekend regardless, but I just wanted to see some thoughts on this since im a 29er newbie.

·
The Duuude, man...
3,537 Posts
gunsworth said:
Well, i used to race a hardtail 26 (well equipped trek 8000), this year i was gonna go with the paragon, but they were out. I also had been wantin to go fs for a while so I went with the sugar 292 (The ex9 was a bit high in price imho). I love the bike but Im kinda weary bout racing it, should I rebuild my old 26er for races? Im tryin it this weekend regardless, but I just wanted to see some thoughts on this since im a 29er newbie.
You'd be smokin' crack not to race it....esp since it'll be faster than an equivalent 26er...

Related: I'll be representin' in Ft Smith Arkansas this weekend on my 292....frame is only stock item on it (well, ok, the shifters and derailers are stock as well). I'm the race director, but I've got it set so I can race my class and then keep on working the race...we run beginners first, then sport/ex...so I'll be done before they sport/ex start...

If you're in the area, this is one of the premier Arkansas events (at least in terms of course quality): www.springhillclassic.net

·
Registered
47 Posts
xc race worthy

gunsworth said:
I agree w/ncjo1. The bike should rock, especially faster courses. Locally, I've seen most riders take at least 2 to 3 minutes per hour off their typical race times after making the switch to 29" in fast events like the Chequamegon 40 and the short & fat. 292s are a little heavy, but steady, smart riding will bring you fast times.

·